When I think of sugar cookies…

**Not to detract from the simple tastiness of these cookies, but I have found the sugar cookie recipe to beat all other recipes. Check it out!**

I think of these. The sugar cookie of my memories are light and crumbly, and more like a biscuit – not the ones I used for decorating. They’re super simple to make, and they were my perfect candidate for this past month’s Baking Gals soldier.

I have no idea where I found this recipe, it was so long ago and before I really started keeping track, but I’ve been using it ever since. It made about 50 cookies, and that was good because I had to sample a few and make sure they were good before sending them off. This’ll be a nice short post for you guys, because there’s not much to say about these except try them when you want a quick and easy cookie.

SUGAR COOKIES

  • 2.5 cups flour
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 cup unsalted butter, room temp
  • 1.5 eggs (one egg, plus one yolk) room temp
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • pinch of salt
  • colored sugar or sprinkles for decorating

Preheat the oven to 375ºF. Cream together the butter and the sugar. Add the eggs, vanilla and salt, scraping down the side of the bowl as necessary. Add the flour and mix until incorporated.

Set out your decorating supplies. I used colored sugar, in this case orange and red because the soldier was a Va Tech fan. I know, I know, but he’s serving our country! You can also use plain coarse sugar, or the little round nonpareils, and put them in a small bowl so it’s easy to roll the dough around.

Taking a small chunk of dough, roll it out to about a one-inch ball. Gently roll one half of the ball into the decorating sugar, and flatten it slightly- not pancaked – with the sugar side up onto a parchment covered baking sheet. You can cover the entire cookie with sugar if you like, but I prefer to just do the tops.

Bake the cookies for 8-10 minutes. I’ve noticed they don’t really turn golden brown, so you can probably just go by time on this one. Let them cool a bit on the sheet, then remove them to a rack to cool completely. I find these taste best once they’ve cooled, as opposed to some cookies which taste super yummy straight from the oven.

The evil rating on these, if only because these sound sugary, wouldn’t even surpass a 1 out of 5. They’re mighty tasty though! Hope this recipe finds you well and fulfills all your sugary needs!

2 comments

  1. These look great. Sugar cookies are always a challenge for me, so I try to stay away from them. Mine usually end up fat round discs.

    Going to save your recipe, so I can give it a go before high cookie baking season-Christmas. 🙂

    1. They’re super easy to make. You should check out the ones I made with cream cheese, those were a hit around the holidays too!

Leave a Reply

