Just your basic awesome brownies

If I ever make these at home again, which isn’t really a matter of if so much as when so I don’t know why I said that, I will ply you with more pictures. For now, this is all I got.

I made these as part of a practical final in my baking class. Our teacher told us we could bring in our own brownie recipes for the last class so that we could have something to do and then something to snack on as we recapped what we had learned. I’ve had this recipe logged away since November ’09, and I know that for a fact because that’s the date it’s saved in my email. It was about time I made them!

I adapted this recipe on How to Cook Like Your Grandmother, a site whose recipes haven’t let me down. He also has the great step-by-step photos I was unable to take during class. I only tweaked his recipe slightly, adding salt and vanilla, and cooked it in a 10″ cake pan because that’s all I had available, hence the pie slices, but they came out wonderfully. The other students, and even the teacher, asked me for this recipe on the way out.

While he recommends using good quality chocolate, and really who would recommend using something crappy?, I did make these with generic cocoa powder, and they were still so rich and fantasmic. The great thing with brownies too is that you mix it all up in one bowl and you’re done. It took maybe 15 minutes prep time before these were in the oven.

PERFECT BROWNIES – Adapted from Drew’s Perfect Brownies

  • 1.5 cups sugar
  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 3/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 3 eggs
  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter, melted
  • 3/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat your oven to 325ºF.

Mix your dry ingredients together in the bowl, then add the eggs, vanilla and melted butter. (I combined the vanilla and butter together first, to make sure it would be spread out evenly.) Mix the batter until the dry stuff is mostly incorporated into the wet, it’s okay if there’s still some loose powder floating around, and then stir in the chips. Stir only a little more so that they’re evenly distributed.

Don’t over-mix brownies, any brownies, because they become tough and gross. With 8 other kids in my class making them at the same time as me, though granted we used different recipes, you could easily see how not all brownies are created equally. With only a few simple ingredients in the recipe, I would chalk a lot of the problems up to user error.

Drew recommends putting parchment down on your 9×13″ pan before baking, but since I had limited resources in class (I used a 10″ round cake pan for Pete’s sake), I just sprayed and prayed. My trick to make sure they didn’t stay in the pan was to let them cool for maybe 10 minutes in the pan before running a spatula (I used a small icing spatula, you could use a butter knife) around the edges so they didn’t stick.

But I’m getting ahead of myself. Bake the brownies for 20-30 minutes. Use a toothpick to test for doneness. I’d set my timer for 22 minutes, but I let them bake for 28 in the end. Of course, I was using a smaller pan, but you should test earlier rather than later so they’re not overbaked and tough.

I let them sit in the pan for about 10 minutes until I scraped a spatula around the edges to loosen them from the pan. Even with the baking spray, many a kid in my class had brownies that needed to be pried out of their pans in the end.

Since it was round, I cut mine into pie slices, but you can probably get about 32 square-ish brownies in the 9×13 pan.

Pour yourself a glass of milk and enjoy!

11 comments

  1. So? Don’t hold out … what was your grade?

    1. hahaha, actually just checked my grades today – and I got an A in both classes, woo! Thanks for helping with that 🙂

  2. Awesome! I’m going to tell people I haven’t been to culinary school, but my recipes got straight A’s.

  3. amandasperspective · · Reply

    This recipe is amazing! Made it all the way down here in Paraguay (with some added sugar for extra measure in case the cocoa powder wasn’t sweet enough,) and they were moist and DELICIOUS! All my Paraguayan guests were raving about the delicious Brownies, which most had never had before!

  4. […] (They kicked ass, thanks to the fabulous recipe from My Baking Empire.) Pre-Baked Mac and Cheese…4 Kinds of Cheese – MMM!! Left to Right – Fries, Mac and Cheese, […]

  5. […] brownies I made for my American Dinner, compliments of my sister and the baking blogs she follows, (remember?) and perhaps experimenting with chocolate chip cookies, when I remembered the 2 bananas I had […]

  6. Anywhere Home · · Reply

    If I wanted to make these brownies again, which I’ve already said I totally loved, but wanted to make them a bit healthier…would apple sauce or black beans be a good substitute? Or would that ruin the moist delicious flavor?

    1. There is a bit of liquid in these, so you could probably substitute some of the butter out for applesauce, which would make them healthier. I’d say you should keep at least 50% butter though. I haven’t tried myself, so I’m not sure how they turn out, but let me know if they work for you!

  7. The unhealthy ingredients in here aren’t the butter, chocolate or eggs, it’s the sugar and flour. You can replace the flour with black beans — a friend of mine makes brownies that way, but I don’t know the proportions — but the sugar you’re kind of stuck with.

    My view on “healthier” brownies (and cookies and other treats) is to make them taste so good that you’re satisfied with just one.

  8. I still always open this page up whenever I want brownies. 4 years later and your recipe is still rock-solid 🙂

    1. Love hearing it 🙂 And love you!!

Leave a Reply

