Cinnamon Roll Cookies

I’ve been dying to make these forever. When I first found the recipe, I was too much of a chicken to make actual cinnamon rolls, but by the time I got around to making them it was more like I just didn’t want to wait through all the steps of a real one. I ended up finally getting to try them out for a birthday party. My friend Will told me that I’ve never let him down with anything I’ve baked, and that everything I make is his favorite. He’s not-so-subtly buttering me up for his next big plan, which is for me to make all his favorites at once so he can really compare them and determine which he likes best. (He’s brought this up more than once, by the way.) As he’s reminded me a few times since then, I still haven’t let him down because these are now the best cookies he’s ever had. (Thanks, bud!)

Anyways, these are fantastic and fairly simple to make. For the most part I followed this recipe from Babble.com and I only made a couple tiny tweaks to the filling, but you can do whatever suits you. Strangely, these cookies are best served cold, so you can definitely make them ahead of time.

COOKIES

  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 6 cups flour
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Mix together your dry ingredients in a bowl, and set aside. Cream the butter and sugar together in a mixer. Then add the eggs, vanilla, and sour cream to the butter and sugar until they’re well combined. Then slowly add in the dry ingredients until well combined.

Split the dough into two, and shape them into rectangles about 1.5″ thick, wrap them and chill in the fridge for at least 2 hours.

Before you take them out of the fridge, you can start on the filling.

FILLING

  • 1.5 cups butter
  • 1.5 cups light brown sugar
  • 1.5 Tbsp ground cinnamon
  • 2 Tbsp AP flour

Cream all the ingredients together in the mixer until well-combined. Easy-peasy. I added flour so that the filling wouldn’t just melt away during baking. Then, preheat your oven to 350ºF.

Now you can work with your dough. Cutting each rectangle into thirds, roll out your dough into a 12×5″ rectangle. It doesn’t have to be exact, but it should be wide enough, and thin enough, that you can roll it easily into a pinwheel.

Using a spatula, spread the filling onto your dough, leaving the far end clear so you can seal it. I didn’t measure how much filling I was using, just made sure it wasn’t too thick and that every inch was covered. I found it easier to spread the filling this way, rather than how the recipe called for you to spread the butter than sprinkle the cinnamon and sugar over the top. I feel this was more evenly dispersed, and you don’t have to take the time to divide the ingredients in 6. Once the filling is spread, roll your dough into a log starting from the wide end.

At this point, I put the log back into the fridge to firm up a bit. You can also put them into the freezer if you don’t want to wait too long. This step isn’t necessary, but it was helpful in that when the dough is solid, the logs didn’t squish down when you go to cut the cookies. Do this with the remaining dough so you end up with 6 logs.

Slice the dough into 1/2″ cookies, and bake them on parchment for 9-11 mins. The pictures below are pre and post bake – look how they turned out like mini cinnamon rolls!

While they’re cooling, make the cream cheese frosting. This isn’t necessary, but you should absolutely put the frosting on there. It takes the cookies from yummy to highly addictive in just a few simple steps. My friends raved about them, one of them even said she wanted to crawl inside the container with the cookies and just live there for a while. Not entirely sure what she meant, but it sounded like a compliment.

FROSTING

  • 8oz softened cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 2-4 Tbsp milk (I used heavy cream because it was all I had)

Cream the cream cheese and sugar together in the mixer, then add milk to desired consistency. I didn’t want these too runny because I had to transport them to the birthday party. I probably only used 2 Tbsp. To spread it, I put the frosting in a ziplock bag and snipped off the corner. I could have made them prettier but just didn’t have time. Put these guys in the fridge until you’re ready to serve. Also, on that note, I originally tried putting wax paper between the layers of cookies in the tin I was using. Bad idea, the frosting stuck to the paper. I ended up just piling them on each other, and strangely it was easier to pull them apart without losing that precious topping.

The recipe said it yielded at least 6 dozen, and it was right. I ended up with about twice that many cookies. I guess I made them a bit smaller than 1/2″ or something. Doesn’t matter, they were amazing. If you end up with as many cookies as I did, however, you’ll probably want to double the frosting recipe. Just a heads up.

As for more compliments about these cookies, there were lots of expletives used. The bouncer at the bar told me that he hated me. My friend Will, the birthday boy, told me how he gave a cookie to someone and told her to try it. Shortly thereafter, she excused herself from the conversation, only to return with a handful of cookies. That same friend came up to me later to tell me how effing amazing the cookies were. He also mentioned other friends who seemed to literally be shoveling them into their mouths. I’m okay with that, and kind of happy I ended up with so many.

These are up there on the evil rating scale, I’d rank them a 4.5. I couldn’t stop eating them, no one else could stop eating them, and the average person consumed more than whatever a serving size would allow. Combine that with the fact that every single cookie was gone well before the night was over, and you have yourselves a good recipe.

I hope you enjoy these too!

2 comments

  1. Thanks for explaining what AP flour is….duh! Anyways, I just finished up making these as part of my christmas tray of baking and these are awesome cookies, totally sinful! I thought they were quite abit of work but well worth it. I will be making these again!

  2. lisa gates · · Reply

    HELP!!!!! In the pictures it shows no flour on the cutting board and no flour on the rolling pin. The dough sticks to the cutting board and then when we put the filling on the dough it rip holes in the dough as we are spreading it…..this is for a baby shower tomorrow!!!!! HELP!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

