If I could marry a baked good…

Believe it or not, there’s no exaggeration when I say I think these were the best muffins ever conceived. Maybe they’re even the best things I have ever baked. I got the recipe from my baking class, and after I ate about 3 of them that day alone, I decided I had to make them again and share them with the world. I brought them into work a few weeks back, and a few people agreed they might have been the best concoction yet.

What? I haven’t even told you yet what kind of muffins I made? They were sour cream muffins with a streusel topping. Now don’t let that fool you. I was like “sour cream, ewwwwww!” myself, until I ate them (I don’t know why I thought they would taste like sour cream). Really they were like mini coffee cakes, and they were so light and fluffy and moist and people kept referring to them as cupcakes. (What’s the difference, really?) I couldn’t stop eating them. The streusel topping was just a bonus, but I would have eaten them plain.

Unfortunately, since this is another recipe from my textbook, most of the recipe is by weight, but I’ll give you volume measurements where I can. I really tried to keep track of how much flour I put in, but sometimes you just lose track of things. Go buy a cheapo scale to make these, it will be worth the investment. This recipe makes about 2 dozen muffins if you’re using regular tins. If you are able to measure them, and want to, they’ll make 12 mondo muffins at 100g each.

Make the streusel first (if using), because you can keep it in the fridge until you need it. It also freezes well, the recipe makes so much that I have a gallon bag of the leftovers in my freezer for the future. This is a quarter of the full recipe, I believe I made half last time which is why I have so much left over.

STREUSEL TOPPING (recipe from On Baking, pg. 151)

  • 240g AP flour
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 84g brown sugar
  • 60g granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup cold whole butter (180g)

Combine all your dry ingredients then cut in your butter so the mixture is coarse and crumbly. You want to make sure the butter stays cold, so if it gets too warm you can pop it in the fridge. Cut the butter into small pieces, so there are no huge chunks, but pea-sized blobs. Use a pastry cutter or bench scraper to start with, but you can also get in there with your fingers and tear the butter apart if there are still some big pieces left. Make sure your hands aren’t too warm. Put the streusel in the fridge until you’re ready to top the muffins.

SOUR CREAM MUFFINS (recipe from On Baking, pg. 150)

  • 1 cup unsalted butter (240g)
  • 240g granulated sugar (8oz in the recipe does not necessarily mean 1 cup)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 300g AP flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder (4g)
  • 1 tsp baking soda (4g)
  • 1 tsp salt (6g)
  • 10 oz  sour cream (300g or 1.25 cups)
  • 1 tsp Vanilla extract

Preheat the oven to 350F.

Cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy, then add the eggs and vanilla.

Sift your dry ingredients together, then add them to the butter mix alternately with the sourcream in 3 parts. (Starting and ending with the dry.) You can do this by hand, folding carefully until everything is just incorporated. Don’t over mix them or you could end up with tough, dense muffins. Portion the batter, it’s pretty thick so you’ll need a spoon, out into paper-lined tins, not too full because you’re still adding the streusel and you don’t want it spilling over; maybe 2/3 the way. If you’re measuring the muffins by weight in, let’s say, individual silicone cups, you’d want about 50g in the smaller size, 100g in the larger.

Before you bake, sprinkle streusel over each of the muffins. You can put on however much you want, but you won’t really need as much as you’d like to think. Once you try these, you’ll see the streusel enhances the muffin, but the muffin itself really is the main event.

Bake for about 20 minutes, or until they’re golden brown on top and set. You might need to use a toothpick to check.

Please rush out to make these, but should the day come where they legalize marriage between a human and a baked good, I call dibs.

I’ll offer these an Evil Rating of 3.5, because I had 3 in one day each time I made them, and I know I wasn’t the only one…

Leave a Reply

