Matzah Bark

This recipe, like the macaroons, has only a few ingredients and is pretty simple to make. And, oh boy, is it yummy! The best part? It’s kosher for Passover, even if it seems like you’re cheating! On that note, sorry that this recipe is so belated. I got busy last week and just didn’t get around to posting. That’s my excuse. Whatever, you can eat this year round, so you don’t even have to wait until next spring. Most people just sub matzah in for Saltines.

This treat got many oohs and ahhs once I started forcing it on people who aren’t Jewish at my Easter/Passover party. It has caramel (more of a toffee, really) and chocolate in it. This might actually be a cure for religious dissent! I’ve just solved all the world’s problems! (You’re welcome.)

My favorite comment about these was from a boy I’d just met. My buddy FrankDogg and his wife had brought a couple of friends to the festivities, and one of them had just bitten into a piece of bark. Someone asked him a question, to which he replied, “What? I can’t hear you over all this deliciousness.” I knew we’d get along just fine.

Anyways, not all of this went at the party, so my coworkers were in for a treat. This has a surprising Evil Rating, considering their simplicity – but I guess there’s something to be said for the basics. I’m rating this a 3. After 2 days there were still a bunch of macaroons I had to dump (ok, not everyone likes coconut), but the bark was gone long before day’s end. There was even a request for the recipe (which I found on Epicurious).

Alright, so this recipe lists this as chocolate and caramel, however it tasted more like toffee to me. With the power of the interwebs behind me, I just looked up the difference. Caramel usually has some sort of cream in it, whereas toffee is just butter and sugar, so as it turns out, this is a chocolate and toffee treat. Oh boy, is it ever… As the Epicurious description of this states “[it’s] An outstanding, unique, and easy confection. If you make only one thing at Passover, make this.” I concur, whole-heartedly.

CHOCOLATE TOFFEE MATZAH BARK

  • 4-6 unsalted matzahs
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter
  • 1 cup firmly packed brown sugar (I used light)
  • 1 cup semi sweet chocolate chips (I used Kosher for Passover chips)

Other things you will need:

  • a large cookie sheet
  • aluminum foil
  • parchment paper

Preheat your oven to 375ºF. Line a large cookie sheet completely with foil. This is not a suggestion, this is a must. I just covered mine with one layer, but I would seriously do a second next time.

Cover the foil with parchment (I didn’t get a picture of this on its own). This stuff becomes very sticky during baking. Not only that, but some of it seeped below the aluminum foil (hence my forewarning of maybe doubling up!).

Next, line the baking sheet with your matzah, breaking pieces to make sure the bottom is evenly lined. (As you can see, the right-hand side is where I had to break pieces. I did the best I could.) You’ll want to try to cover the whole bottom, think of it as maximizing the amount of bark!

Now, melt the butter in a medium saucepan and mix in the sugar. Cook over medium heat until it comes to a boil. Boil it for a few minutes, making sure to stir constantly. Otherwise the butter and sugar will separate and it will look really gross – the melty butter floats on top and it looks super greasy. Yes I stopped stirring for a bit, but no I don’t have a picture. Oopsies.

Anyways, once that’s all come together, pour it immediately over the matzah. Use a silicon spatula to spread it around evenly over the crackers.

Pop the tray into the oven (it should be heated by now) and turn the temp down to 350º. The original directions state to bake for 15 minutes while keeping an eye on it to make sure it’s not cooking too quickly or burning. I couldn’t tell, quite frankly, so I just left it in there the entire time. She says that if it is browning too much, you should turn the temp down to 325º.

Once it’s done baking, remove it from the oven and sprinkle with the chocolate right away. Let it sit on top for a few minutes, it will melt on its own from the heat, and then use a spatula to spread the chocolate around evenly.

While it’s still warm, you’ll want to break it into smaller pieces. I tried doing this by cutting with a knife, that didn’t work. I found the best method was to pull up with something like a fork, while holding a knife down on the spot where you wanted the break. Much less frustrating. The pieces don’t have to be even, but I tried to get mine to all be a few bites big. You don’t want big hunks, but you also don’t want teeny little pieces.

Pop the entire tray into your freezer and chill until set. I ended up leaving mine overnight. Also, here’s a hint. If you’re like me and have a ton of stuff that might melt in your freezer were the tray to make contact with it, put a cookie sheet upside down in there first, and then rest the sheet with the goods on top of it.

And enjoy!

One comment

  1. […] 4) Make a batch of Passover Chocolate Bark. It is a great way to turn matzo into a delicious dessert. Email me for the recipe. It is easy to make and everyone will think you are the most incredible cook and hostess. If you make this, you can buy all the rest of the food. I promise, no one will notice. […]

Leave a Reply

