Banana Bread

I’d gotten a few requests for banana bread from coworkers, and though I found the thought of banana bread borderline repulsive, let alone the idea of making it, enough people asked that I finally caved. The great thing is, it’s a perfect use for gross-looking, super ripened bananas!

While I let the bananas “spoil,” I spent a couple of days logging different recipes and taking note of their unique attributes. When it finally came time to make the bread, however, my internet wouldn’t work. Fortunately, my wonderful mother had given me a copy of The Joy of Cooking for the holidays, and I knew I’d find something in there. It wasn’t exactly the recipe I wanted, but it was a fantastic starting point, and you can see what I did below to modify it. I made 4 mini loaves, but you could easily make one larger loaf by using a 9×5″ pan and cooking it for an hour and a quarter or so.

BANANA BREAD – Adapted from The Joy of Cooking

  • 2 cups flour (would be a great place to sub whole wheat, I just forgot!)
  • 1.5 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 6 oz butter – I used salted – room temp
  • 1/3 cup white sugar
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar (I will use all brown next time)
  • 2 beaten eggs
  • splash of vanilla
  • 8oz sour cream
  • 3 large ripe bananas (I’ll use 4 next time)
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts (only used it in half the loaves, you could add more)

Preheat the oven to 350ºF and grease up 4 mini-loaf pans.

Sift flour, baking powder, and salt together in a medium bowl. In a small bowl, beat together 2 eggs and a splash of vanilla.

Then, in a mixer, cream the butter and sugars together.

Add eggs and beat, and then add bananas. You can mash them first, but if they’re super ripe it’ll be no problem for the mixer to take care of it.

Once that’s all nice and liquidy, add the dry ingredients in 3 batches, alternating with half of the sour cream.

Now, I had a specific request for a loaf without nuts, but to me the nuts seemed key, so I decided to make 2 of each. The first two I poured from the batter as I had just prepared it. I filled each one about 2/3 of the way up.

Then, I folded the nuts into the rest of the batter and filled the remaining 2 tins.

I placed all 4 of the loaf pans onto a baking sheet, and put it in the middle of the oven. Bake for about 34 minutes (rotating the sheet halfway), and check with a toothpick to see if they’re ready. You can even check a few minutes earlier, but I ended up baking mine for around 37 minutes because I wanted them to be more brown on top. (Again, I’m not a fan of banana bread, so I’m not even sure what it should look like, but the finished product seemed to be the same color as it was pre-bake, and that was off-putting to me, so I left it in a bit longer.)

And voila! Four adorable little banana loaves!

Let them cool for about 10 minutes in their little tins, and then invert them onto a dish towel, and let them cool completely on a clean baking sheet. I got this tip from Drew at Cook Like Your Grandmother, because he points out that letting them cool on wire racks will leave indentations on the bottoms. You should also note that this bread is pretty sticky!

I was told this bread was amazing, and that was a relief because it smelled pretty gross to me. I was not remotely tempted to try a bit, though I did eat the little burned parts as I was picking them off trying to prettify the loaves. Those were pretty darn good. I liked this recipe because it didn’t have too much sugar in it, and I thought it would be a nice consistency. That’s actually one of the comments I got, that the texture was really good, so yay me. Next time, however, I think you don’t need a full cup of sour cream (that probably accounts for their sickly pallor), and I would add another banana, but I was assured it was fantastic. It was all gone from the kitchen before lunch, and I saw people with a few slices at a time, so I’d rate it a hit. In terms of evilness, this probably ranks a 1 of 5 because it’s a pretty tame kind of treat, but delicious nonetheless.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

