A Simple Little Cookie

I had a lovely President’s Day Weekend, especially since we had an extra day off work. Who doesn’t love that? Although I love not having to work, that doesn’t mean I can go 3 days without seeing my coworkers. The Boys, as I affectionately call the 2 guys I work with that are practically my brothers, had a hockey game on Monday night, and for the first time in the 2.5 years I’ve known them, I attended! Not wanting to show up empty handed, and after a long weekend of cooking and eating, I wanted to make something simple. I’ve had this recipe on hand for a long time, and decided it was the perfect occasion to make such a basic cookie. Sadly, I have no idea where I got it from, so if it’s yours please let me know!

The recipe struck me as a basic cookie recipe, and the adornments can be left up to the baker. In this case I used some chocolate chips and peanut butter chips. Yuuuuuum! I’d been itching to use the pb chips in something, and these were perfect. The recipe is a lot smaller than, let’s say, the Tollhouse one, so it only made 2 dozen sizeable cookies. I was fine with that because I wasn’t trying to make endless batches, I just wanted enough to share with the boys after their Victory.

BASIC COOKIE RECIPE (with add-ins)

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
  • 1/3 cup + 1 tbsp granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup packed brown sugar, light or dark
  • 1/2 tsp salt (completely forgot to put this in)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/5 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons milk (optional, but I used it)
  • 1 cup-ish peanut butter chips (really more like half a bag since it wasn’t the full 12oz)
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 375º

Lightly grease 2 cookie sheets, or just use parchment (like I do). Now, the recipe says to beat together the butter, sugars, vanilla, baking soda and baking powder until combined.  Then add the egg and beat until smooth. I actually added the baking soda and powder with the flour at the end. The cookies turned out fine, not sure why the order was so odd to me, but I just did what I knew.

Add the flour, mixing it in completely. Stir in the milk, and then stir in the chips.

Drop the cookies by the spoonful onto the sheets about 2″ apart.

I did pretty big cookies, and flattened them slightly with my hand, but you don’t have to. And you certainly don’t have to make them as big as I did, but I was going for minimal batches and maximum cookie power.

Anyways, bake for 14-16 minutes, rotating halfway, until they’re a light golden brown, and a bit darker on the edges. I baked them at the lower end, and then let them cool completely on the baking sheets.

If you don’t want to use peanut butter chips and chocolate chips, the recipe really didn’t specify what you could use. You can add 2 cups of whatever – chips, m&ms, fruit, nuts, anything your heart desires.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

