Superbowl 2010

Ah, the Superbowl. A whole lot of preparation and chaos (and food!) for a few hours of camaraderie (yelling) amongst friends. I went to a party with the friends I normally watch pro games with during the season, and it was insanely fun. I brought some dessert by request, and I’m totally fine with that. The host provided carne asada, Armenian string cheese, assorted dips and things to dip in them, chips, pigs in blankets… the usual fare.

I didn’t make anything new, just the fan favorites – Dunkaroos and Oreos. The one new thing I did try, however, was a different kind of frosting for dunking. In addition to the classic vanilla buttercream, I also made a cookie dough dip. It was too good to pass up once I found the recipe on the Brown Eyed Baker’s page. I adapted it slightly, but only because I was worried there wouldn’t be enough and I didn’t have enough ingredients to double the recipe. I don’t think it changed the taste all too much.

I spent all day Saturday baking so I would have enough cookies for the game, for work, for my sister, and for the Baking Gals, which I’ll get into more for my next post. I made 2 batches of Dunkaroos, shaped as footballs obvs, and 4 batches of Oreos. Shoot me. I was literally on my feet in the kitchen all day, probably 10 hours, and didn’t even finish. I had to get up early Sunday to finish filling the rest of the Oreos. It was totally worth it though, from the reactions of my friends at the party to my coworkers at work, and I’ll be hearing from my sestra by Wednesday I’m sure. We already know Dad liked them, but who doesn’t like hearing multiple compliments about something they’ve made?

In addition, I decided to break in my (2nd) new slow cooker this weekend as well. Why do I have two, you might ask? Because I returned the first one when I never used it in a month. This time I was DETERMINED!  I’ve always had lofty dreams of homemade chili, and since I could just throw everything in the cooker and leave it cooking all day, it was pretty minimal work.

Needless to say, I took on more than I could chew, ha, but it all worked out okay when I saw that everyone was happily munching cookies during the game. They didn’t even wait for dessert time!

If you’re looking for something to dip your graham crackers into, try this cookie dough dip. I got asked for the recipe by a bunch of people on Sunday, so that says crowd-pleaser to me!

CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIE DOUGH DIP

  • 1/2 cup butter (I used unsalted, but I don’t think it matters)
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar – plus I used more for sprinkling
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 8oz package cream cheese
  • 1 cup confectioner’s sugar
  • 1 cup semisweet mini chocolate chips

In a small saucepan, melt the butter and brown sugar over medium heat. Keep stirring until the sugar dissolves. I wouldn’t recommend doing it in the microwave, then again I didn’t try it. Michelle advises that it will boil over fast if you do it that way.

Remove the pan from heat and whisk in vanilla. Let it cool.

Cream the cream cheese and powdered sugar for a minute. This is where I also sprinkled in some more brown sugar, I’m sure it wasn’t necessary. Then slowly beat in the cooled butter mix and beat. Stir in the chocolate chips by hand.

This will be a somewhat runny mixture, so pour it into a bowl and refrigerate before putting it out. Keep in mind, however, that it will harden in the fridge so leave some time (like 20-30 mins) for it to thaw before serving. It won’t re-liquify, so don’t worry.

I didn’t take any pictures of the dip, but you can see the one on the Brown Eyed Baker’s site, and that’s pretty much what mine looked like. Armed with this recipe, you can now be like one of my friends who told me she’s itching to be invited somewhere so she can bring the cookies and dip. Hope that invite comes soon, otherwise you should spoil yourself and make them anyway!

Leave a Reply

