s’morenies (s’more brownies)

I’ll get to my Superbowl post later in the week, but for now these are WAY more important. My coworker came up with that name, I’m just sorry it didn’t occur to me first. Now, I’m not claiming we’re the first to use the name (or concept) of a s’more brownie, but I’ll tell you that there cannot be a more perfect concoction of chocolate, marshmallow, and graham than what I cooked up last week.

I was inspired by 2 different ladies and 2 completely different recipes to make these brownies. So inspired, that even though I got home from work at 10:30 pm, I stayed up until after midnight to finish. I just HAD to!

For the actual brownie, I used Michelle’s recipe, and for the topping I was inspired by Annie’s. These two women have fantastic blogs I’ve logged a bunch of stuff from, but so far haven’t made too many. I’m sure a lot of people can relate- so many good sounding things, only so many days a week I can bring in baked goods without the coworkers calling me the devil. (There are pretty much none, I always get called the devil. Muahahaha). Once again, after bringing these bad boys in, I heard it from coworkers and the owner of the company. (He told me that these were so wrong, that all the other stuff I make is wrong, but these are more wrong than anything in the world to the sun and back times 10 or something. It didn’t make much sense. I just smiled and said thank you.)

S’MORENIES

for the brownie:

  • 4 ounces unsweetened chocolate
  • 2/3 cup unsalted butter
  • 1 1/4 cups semisweet chocolate chips, divided into 3/4 and 1/2 cups
  • 1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 4 eggs, room temp
  • 2 cups white sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract

for the topping:

  • 1 10oz bag of mini marshmallows
  • 9 graham crackers (I used HoneyMaid, and it was one full bag, so half a box)
  • 1/2 stick salted butter (4 tablespoons)
  • 3/4 can of sweetened condensed milk (around a cup, or more)
  • 2 ounces dark chocolate
  • the rest of the semi-sweet chip bag

Preheat your oven to 350ºF, and grease an 11×15-inch pan, I prefer glass for this stuff.. (The original recipe called for a 9×13-inch pan. As it turns out, that was the only size I had, but it also worked out well because each bar ended up with equal proportion brownie and topping, as opposed to a thicker brownie. I just adjusted the baking time on them.)

To start the brownies, melt the unsweetened chocolate, butter, and 3/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips over medium heat. Stir occasionally until smooth. Set aside for a few minutes to cool. (took this picture before I added the chips, my B!)

In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, and salt. In a larger bowl, whisk the eggs. Add the sugar and vanilla and whisk until well blended.

Stir the melted ingredients into the egg and mix well.

Then stir in the dry ingredients.

The batter gets pretty thick, but make sure you get all the stuff from the bottom! Fold in the remaining 1/2 cup semisweet chips.

Pour batter into prepared baking dish, smooth the surface with a spatula. It took a minute because the batter was more inclined to stick to the spatula than the dish, but it’ll sort out. Just do your best to get it even 🙂

I baked for 23 minutes, didn’t want to overdo it because it’s a thinner brownie, and it’ll bake more once the toppings on it. Rotate the pan halfway for even baking.

While it’s baking, get your toppings ready. Melt the salted butter in a bowl in the microwave (it’s just easier). While that’s going, and cooling, smash up some graham crackers! I put mine into a zip-top bag and went at them with a meat tenderizer. I’ll tell ya, I think it was pretty therapeutic after the long day I’d had. Pulverize them into teeny, tiny crumbs, turn the bag over and do it again on the other side until everything is pretty evenly smashed up.

Pour the crackers into the bowl of butter, and coat evenly. I just used a spoon to stir, and after a while you’ll see that all the graham bits have taken on a buttery color. And the smell, oh the smell. You’ll see.

When the brownies are ready, remove the dish from the oven, immediately scatter the bag of marshmallows over the top. I had to pick some apart and place them over the top. They started melting so quickly and that stuff is sticky. Once you have those out, scatter the graham/butter crumbs over the tops as evenly as you can. I put the ‘mallows on first because I figured they’d be more of an adhesive to both the brownie and the crumbs. Plus you’ll seal it in a minute with a little ganache.

Pop the brownies back in the oven and bake for another 4 minutes. I wanted my marshmallows to puff up a bit. You could always tack another minute of time to the brownie bake and then scale back on the ‘mallow bake. Use your discretion, but don’t overbake!

While those are going, melt the remaining chocolate (you can use the chocolate pan from earlier!) and the condensed milk over med-low heat. Stir with a wooden spoon until it’s smooth. That stuff seems to harden pretty quickly, so keep the pot on low on the stove until you take the brownies out.

Look at that post-bake puff!

Now, I’d considered being classy and using a squeeze-bottle to drizzle the chocolate over the top, but seeing how quickly it started setting I didn’t think I’d have time. Plan B was using the wooden spoon to just douse the tops of the brownies. I probably should have considered aesthetics a bit more, but really I was just trying to use up all of the chocolate and seal in the marshmallow layer.

I put the dish on a cookie sheet and turned a fan on it to speed the cooling process. They were going in the fridge overnight (4 hours to set at least), but it was after midnight and I needed to sleep and be up for work early. (or at least on time!) Once the dish was cool to the touch, I put it in the fridge uncovered. You should probably cover them, but I don’t think it really affected them.

I allotted myself 20 minutes in the morning to cut them. I was a little optimistic, it took closer to half an hour. Seriously. Thick and gooey, even after being in the fridge. YUM. I cut them 6 across and 5 down, and they were still pretty sizable bars. Now it’s time for a little confession. I squealed when I cut out and lifted up the first square. No lie, a high-pitched, child-like noise was emitted, I was so excited. That’s how good they looked. Cannot describe my pride in these s’morenies.

Know what’s a good reaction? First brownie was eaten at 8:30am (not by me), and by 10:30 am the first container had been polished off. Some clever coworkers even popped these into the microwave for a few seconds.

I hope you enjoy these in good health, and none of your coworkers make threats against your life or comments about your mother because of them.

Leave a Reply

