Homemade Oreos!

How awesome is it finding a recipe for something you love, and hearing from the people that have already made it that it’s spot on? I was so excited to find this recipe. I figured these were my dad’s favorite cookies, and let’s face it they’ve got to be most peoples’, so I couldn’t wait to make them for him.

Since I found this same recipe posted on 2 different sites, (What Megan’s Making and Sugar Cooking) and each one of them has links to other places where they found it, it struck me as tried and true. I made some slight (super slight) changes per each of their reviews, and mine came out fantasmically.

I know you’re probably thinking, “Didn’t you just send your dad cookies?” but the truth is I’m still trying to figure out how frequently I want to post here. Sometimes I get kind of backed up, and I don’t always get to bake more than once a week – or I bake repeats, but I’d like to try posting at least twice a week. I’ll get it sorted out. So anyway, I sent these to my dad on Monday, and the rugelach were actually from last week.

Without further ado…

HOMEMADE OREOS

for the cookie:

  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder (I didn’t have Dutch Process)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 1/4 sticks room temp, unsalted butter
  • 1 egg

for the filling:

  • 1/4 cup (1/2 stick) room temp, unsalted butter
  • 1/4 cup vegetable shortening
  • 2 cups powdered sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract

Put 2 racks in the middle of the oven, and preheat to 375° F. Use some prep time to take stylized photos of ingredients.

Put your dry goods, including sugar, into the bowl of your mixer. Mix them together. I just did it with a whisk by hand so I didn’t have to change out attachments. Add the butter then the egg and mix on low speed. Process until the dough comes together.

Important note – since I’m not used to including sugar in with the dry ingredients, and apparently I can’t read directions, I COMPLETELY FORGOT to put it in at all. Good catch at the end, but oy. I had to mix it in by hand, kneaded it really, and I wasn’t even sure if it was completely incorporated. I’d started rolling the dough into balls before I even realized. The good news is that when I started re-rolling into dough balls it seemed to mix the sugar in.

That being said… take rounded teaspoons of the dough and place on a parchment lined baking sheet about 2 inches apart. Flatten the dough. I flattened mine completely, I didn’t want thick cookies.

I baked mine for 8 minutes, rotating halfway through. I moved the tray to a cooling rack and turned a fan on it because I didn’t want these burning. (I pancaked them pretty thin.) As soon as they were cool I moved them to the rack.

To make the cream filling, beat the butter and shortening, add the vanilla and beat some more, then add the powdered sugar SLOWLY. (You should add and beat slowly or you inhale sugar dust!) Once the sugar is mostly incorporated you can turn up the speed and beat the filling until it’s smooth.

Now, before you assemble the cookies, I’d recommend you pair them off  to make sure the halves line up with each other. They won’t all be perfect, but at least you won’t have completely lopsided sandwiches. I heard this advice from other people, and it was definitely helpful.

To assemble, put the cream into a pastry bag with a 1/2 inch round tip. Here’s why this is so important, I didn’t have a 1/2 inch round tip, so I used a Wilton 12, which is probably closer to 1/4 inch. The filling was so thick that it was ridiculously hard to pipe it out onto the cookie. I think on my second or third cookie I squeezed and the tip just popped off, coupler and all. I ended up switching to a 4D, I think, which was what I consider to be a cupcake tip. It wasn’t a round edge, but it doesn’t matter because the hole was big enough that I didn’t have to use all my strength squeezing anymore so I didn’t have too many problems after that.

Pipe teaspoon sized blobs into the middle of the flat size of a cookie, then take its partner and smush them together. I was going for teaspoon size like the recipe called for, and not trying to be stingy, and I had a bunch of cream left at the end. I actually went back and added some more filling to the first ones I did. I still have leftovers at home.

This was one of the rare cookies I actually sampled, and it was pretty much by accident (or Divine Intervention). I’d been trying to be all cutesy and pose my cookies around a glass of milk, and when I tried moving the platform, one of the cookies slid into the glass. I figured if I had to throw it out anyway, I should probably sample it so’s not to waste the entire cookie. I took a bite and was blown away. I couldn’t believe how good that cookie was, and how close to the original it tasted!

I hope your taste-buds are blown away as well!

Leave a Reply

