Top of the mornin’, blueberry

Blueberry muffins. Is there anything better? Part dessert, part breakfast food, and chock full of fresh berries (if you’re doing it right!).

I’ve made these for my coworkers before, during blueberry season. How could I not? I can’t eat all those berries by myself, though I try. Sometimes I switch it up with chocolate chips, but there’s something about the fresh blueberry explosion that happens during baking.

I whipped these up for the family over Christmas, and we enjoyed them with breakfast for a couple of days. They’re quick to make, and yummy when eaten from the oven, so I wouldn’t make them ahead if you can avoid it.

BLUEBERRY MUFFINS

  • 2 cups flour – I’ve used all-purpose and whole wheat to make these before
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup butter – melted and cooled (it says unsalted, however the saltiness adds a nice contrast with the berries and vanilla. Unless you have sodium issues, I think you could use salted butter to add more of a kick. Then again, I forgot to put the salt in completely this past time I made them, so what do I know? I’m probably just projecting because they were a bit too cupcakey and not super muffiny.)
  • 3/4 cup whole milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1.5 cups fresh blueberries (can sub other berries or chocolate chips even!)

Preheat the Oven to 400 F

I’d recommend starting off by melting the butter and letting it cool down. Then, mix together your dry ingredients – most of the flour, sugar, baking powder, and cinnamon, in a medium bowl. Keep a little of the flour aside- maybe like 1/8 cup, doesn’t have to be precise. 1/4 was too much- so you can coat the blueberries . Put those in their own little bowl.  In a smaller bowl, or use the measuring cup, whisk together the milk, egg, and vanilla.

Once you have your 3 separate bowls all ready to go, add your melted butter to the dry ingredients and mix together. When it looks like wet sand it should be pretty well incorporated.

Next, slowly ad your wet ingredients, mixing until just combined. Your batter will be lumpy, and as Dorie reminds us, that’s how it should be! (I didn’t actually get this recipe from her.)

Then, take your blueberries…

and put them in the leftover flour to coat. This helps them not sink to the bottom of the muffins. I left a lot of flour out to coat, probably a full 1/4 cup, and it was too much.

Then, toss the coated berries into the muffin mixture, and stir just enough to spread them out evenly. You’re not really going for mixing here, just berry distribution. Again, don’t worry that the batter is lumpy.

This is enough for 12 muffins, so just distribute the batter evenly in the tins. Gauges like 2/3 full and 3/4 full don’t seem to register with me, so I just kept spooning a spoonful of batter into each cup until they looked even. Also, since we just were eating them at home with the fam, I used a nonstick pan without any liners, but if you’re transporting these elsewhere you might want to use papers to keep stuff sanitary.

This recipe was adapted from 2 others, and one suggested taking 1/4 cup of the brown sugar (well, sugar) from the original 3/4 cup and sprinkling it on the top to add crunch. You could probably take 1/4 cup of some sort of coarse sugar to sprinkle as well. I just put it all in the batter. I also figure you could cut down on the sugar in the recipe to about 1/2 cup. You won’t need extra sugar for flavor.

Bake for 17-20 minutes in the middle of the oven, and if you remember – rotate the tray halfway through. Unlike most of my recipes, I don’t think you need to use the lower end of this time range. The brown sugar will keep these moist, and the potential for any raw muffin batter doesn’t have the same appeal as raw cookie dough for me.

Look at these lovely muffins. They’re not too big but packed with flavor. They just pop out of the tin with a little twist to help.

And a good breakfast was had by all. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

