My First Pound Cake

I made my first pound cake a couple of days after Thanksgiving. The rest of the food and desserts I made for Thanksgiving itself are a whole other story, as it probably is for many of you. I hosted at my place this year, well co-hosted as it wasn’t really my idea. Lots of my friends are from out of town, as am I, and when it comes to the holidays I’d rather travel back east for Christmas week than for Thanksgiving (or both!). So, knowing that people were going to be in town, a friend convinced me to have everyone over at my place.

That being said, it was a wonderful time with great food and great friends. It went off virtually without any hitches – but that’s what alcohol is for anyway. I do hope it becomes a tradition because it was great sharing the day with my friends, and finding out that some of them are phenomenal cooks – just as long as I don’t have to host again.

I have a problem relaxing when I’m hosting. I was worried there wouldn’t be enough food, there was way too much. I was worried I’d blow a fuse – that was founded, I did that a couple of years ago – and we did. Twice. Easily fixed. Overall, like I said, everyone had a great time, and I was riddled with leftovers. One of these was the first part of inspiration for my pound cake.

I had decided I wanted to make home-made whipped cream for dessert, and in the spirit of overabundance, my friends convinced me to use the full container of whipping cream, instead of one or 2 cups, since there were so many people. Needless to say, I had a lot of excess whipped cream come the day after Thanksgiving. That was part one.

Standard Whipped Cream Recipe

One cup of heavy whipping cream

1 tbsp powdered sugar

Use a mixer or 2 blade hand beater to whip the cream from liquid to fluff! With as much as I did at once, it took a while, but for normal portions it shouldn’t be as difficult. (Can you do this by hand? Yes. And you will strengthen muscles you didn’t know you had. Not worth it.)

Part two starts with me reading a lot of baking blogs in my down time at work. Most of these had one thing in common – references to Tuesdays with Dorie. I didn’t know what it was, so one day I actually ventured to the blog to get the scoop. Basically, it’s a bunch of people baking their way through Dorie Greenspan’s “Baking: From My Home to Yours.”  Although I can’t join the group per se – I, sadly, cannot meet their criteria – I think it’s a fantastic idea! After seeing some of their posts, yum btw, I was inspired me to go out and buy her book. It’s a treasure trove of recipes for cookies, cakes, muffins, breads, anything you could want.

So when I had a ridiculous amount of whipped cream left over from Thanksgiving, I thought “what would make this disappear?” and immediately came up with Pound Cake. Of course, Dorie had a recipe for me. Not only was this my first pound cake, but it was also my first recipe from her book, I’m glad it turned out well!

Anyway, here are some pictures of my fantastic pound cake, on a cake plate I decorated just before the holiday. Out of respect for the TWD group, I will not post the recipe here, but I do encourage you to check out Dorie’s book.

Pound Cake 2

Leave a Reply

