Chocolate Crinkles

**I finally realized I should supply you all with new step by step photos of these since I didn’t take them the first time around. Updated 10/3/10**

Chocolate Crinkles

Who doesn’t like a chocolate cookie? Well a bunch of people maybe, but that’s not really my point. These, so far, have been my most requested cookie. I generally like to make a different kind each time I bake, I have so many recipes I want to try,but when I get repeat requests it’s nice because I know they turned out tasty. Last time I made these, my coworkers would walk by my desk and yell what number cookie they were on, I think the day’s record was 13. Insane, and THANK you 🙂

These cookies not only taste great, but they look pretty cool when they bake up, you can see how they get their name. I found this recipe in the Better Homes and Gardens Christmas Cookies magazine last year. It’s practically become my cookie bible. There are so many recipes I have yet to try, and so far every one of theirs that I’ve tried has been a success. (Here’s a link to the original recipe without my commentary. See? Mine look like the picture!)

Let me know how they turn out for you!

CHOCOLATE CRINKLE COOKIES – makes about 36 large cookies

  • 4 eggs
  • 1 3/4 cups granulated sugar
  • 4 oz unsweetened chocolate, melted and cooled slightly
  • 1/2 cup cooking oil
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour (I’ve made these with whole wheat flour. The flour adds its own flavor but not in a bad way!)
  • 2/3 cup powdered sugar (for coating the cookie)

Combine the eggs, sugar, melted chocolate, oil, baking powder and vanilla. Beat with a mixer on medium. Gradually stir in as much of the flour as you can with the mixer, and use a wooden spoon to stir in the rest. (I’m lazy, I tend to do it all with the mixer and then maybe knead it with my hands towards the end.)

Divide dough in half, cover and chill for 2 hours, or overnight if you need, until the dough is easy to handle. (I never split the dough. Since I stab out the portions with a spoon, to me it doesn’t matter how solid it gets.)

Preheat the oven to 375 F

Lightly grease a large cookie sheet. (I also recently discovered the use of parchment paper, it has changed my life.) You can roll the dough into 1/2 balls for smaller cookies or 1 inch balls for larger ones. Roll them in the powdered sugar, and tap off the excess, before placing them on the cookie sheet. I’ve noticed that these tend to spread, so I’d place them 2″ apart. (my cookie sheet allows for 3 across and 5 down… but they usually have to be surgically separated after baking. This is just so you get an idea of how much they spread. I also make the larger sized ones.)

Bake the smaller cookies for 8-10 minutes, or if you’re only doing larger use the upper end of the time frame. I usually underbake them a bit because they continue cooking on the sheet after you remove them from the oven, and also people seem to like them chewier. The directions advise not to overbake because they will dry out. The cookies will deflate upon cooling.

You can store them in an airtight container at room temp for 3 days, or freeze them for up to 3 months. (Personally, I found freezing them made them kind of weird. I would recommend stuffing your face ASAP.)

Anyways, I hope you enjoy these chocolatey (does that look right?) treats! Happy noshing!

Leave a Reply

