Cookie Butter Cookies

With leftover Cookie Butter from the Jessiesaurus Cookies, and a birthday party coming up, I opted to try a new recipe, rather than make another batch of the stuffed cookies for the same group of people. After doing a search for “cookie butter cookies,” my eyes first went to this post by Buzzfeed, and I ended up finding these from Averie Cooks in the list. So easy, and with ingredients I had on hand.

I doubled Averie’s recipe (below), so refer to the original if you only need a dozen. I also made some changes to her recipe – some intentional, some not. Am realizing as I type this that it doesn’t look like I remembered to double the sugar. I also didn’t have enough Cookie Butter left over for 2 full cups, but you wouldn’t notice any flavor was missing by the way everyone was raving for these. Though next time, I’ll make sure to have a fresh jar.

NOTE – The dough needs to be chilled for at least 3 hours before baking, so these will require some planning. I also clearly made the cookies smaller than intended, not on purpose, because I ended up with a couple more than 3 dozen.

COOKIE BUTTER COOKIES – Makes 3 dozen

  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2 cups Cookie Butter
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3 Tbsp vanilla extract (as written in the original post, “yes, tablespoons.”)
  • 1+3/4 cups AP flour
  • 4 tsp cornstarch (1 Tbsp + 1 tsp)
  • 1 Tbsp cinnamon
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/8 tsp salt

Cream together your Cookie Butter and sugar, until light and fluffy. While that’s going, in another bowl, whisk together your dry ingredients – flour, cornstarch, cinnamon, baking soda, and salt.

IMG_8985IMG_8984

When your butter and sugar are ready, add in your eggs and vanilla and mix until smooth.

IMG_8987IMG_8990

Add your dry ingredients, and mix until just incorporated. Then, cover with plastic and pop in the fridge for 3 hours (or up to 5 days). You can also portion the cookies out onto a plate before refrigerating, but I didn’t.

IMG_8991 IMG_8994

When the dough is ready, you can preheat your oven to 350ºF, and prepare two baking sheets with parchment.

Portion out the cookies into walnut (about 2 Tbsp) sized balls, and space them a couple of inches apart. Bake for 8 minutes. I’d say 8-10,  but the lower end seems to be better for these.

IMG_8995 IMG_8998

Mine came out smaller than I think they were supposed to, and didn’t end up spreading all that much. (Based on the pix I saw from Averie’s original post.) It left me worried they would be dry and dense, but it wasn’t the case!

People went mad for these, which never gets old. Literal strangers introduced themselves to me at the party, saying they’d heard I made the cookies. I’d look around the room and catch someone pointing at me, holding the bag of cookies, and the other person in their conversation would smile at me, and I’d awkwardly wave back. So you could certainly say they’re a good conversation starter.

These would be fantastic to make around the holidays, because of the gingerbread in the Cookie Butter. I’ve given them an Evil Rating of 3, but it’s only because I have more devious things up my sleeve.  Enjoy!

IMG_9002

3 comments

  1. Mmm buttery and delicious :D

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  2. I just made cookies with cookie butter too! I just used a peanut butter chocolate chip cookie recipe and swapped out the peanut butter with cookie butter. Adjustments are needed (sugar wise), as I found out, but still good!

    1. Whoa, that sounds amazing! Can’t wait to see your recipe!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 124 other followers

