Egg cups

The original recipe called them egg tarts, but I was calling them egg cups, so there. I’d intended to make a quiche, but thought individual protein pies would be a better idea. My only regret is not making twice as many! They were wildly popular with my brunch guests, and I wouldn’t have minded a few leftovers for myself.

I opted to serve these without bacon in them, since I was making bacon separately, but you should definitely explore that option if you’re interested. And I’m sure you could get creative with other fillings as well! (Mushrooms, spinach, peppers, different cheeses…) I used the original recipe as a jumping off point, but didn’t follow it completely… I made them as mini shells rather than full sized so people could have a taste, but not be stuck with a full tart if they didn’t want it all since there was so much other food. (My old family tradition – fear of starvation…) The original recipe called for one batch of pie dough, and yielded 4 tarts. I doubled the recipe and used mini muffin tins and ended up with 21 mini tarts. (And a few with holes in them, which we’ll get into later, but ultimately they weren’t able to be filled.)

Depending on how many people you will be serving, I’d recommend making smaller cups. Especially if you have a smorgasbord of other foods, too. And these seem pretty easy to make ahead of time and reheat when you need them.

MINI EGG CUPS – makes roughly 21

  • Recipe for double pie crust (I used this recipe and doubled it)
  • 7 eggs
  • 1/2 cup of half and half or milk
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2-3/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese

First step would be to prepare your pie crust however your directions call for. Good news is that you can make this ahead of time and fridge or freeze it until you’re ready. Regardless, you’ll still have to chill it for a bit before you can work with it. (The Mark Bittman recipe I linked above requires 30 minutes chilling in the fridge, or 10 in the freezer.)

When the dough is ready, preheat your oven to 425ºF.

Once it’s firm, roll your dough out about 1/4″ thick. Use a round biscuit cutter to make the mini pie crusts. I believe I used a 3″ cutter. (Just make sure you use a big enough circle that you have room to form the cup. I used trial and error, which unfortunately why the actual size escapes me a few weeks later…) You’re going to place the dough on the underside of the muffin tin, not the inside. The reasoning is you bake the crust first before you put the filling in (and bake it more), and this way you won’t get a bubble on the bottom.

IMG_8530IMG_8531 IMG_8532

Bake for 8-10 minutes, until light brown. We’ll bake them the rest of the way once they’re filled. While they’re in the oven, time to make your egg mixture. Simply whisk together the eggs, salt, pepper, and milk. Boom. Easy.

IMG_8538

Once the cups are done baking, let them cool for a few minutes, then remove them from the muffin tins and line them up on a baking sheet. No need for grease or parchment. Lower the oven temp to 350ºF.

IMG_8533

Sprinkle a bit of cheese into the bottom of each cup. I didn’t measure, but put enough in so you could taste it, but still had room for some egg. Very scientific. Do it to your own taste! You could probably put more cheese on top, if you’re feeling adventurous…

IMG_8537

Using a spoon or ladle, pour egg into each of the cups, making sure not to go all the way up to the top edge (you will be moving the tray, after all). This was where I discovered some cracks in my cups, as you can see from the spillage, so just be aware when you’re making them, and try to patch any holes before baking.

IMG_8539 IMG_8540

Original directions say to bake at 350ºF for about 15-20 minutes, until the eggs are soft-cooked, and I think I started checking around 12 minutes just because these were minis. Let them cool a bit, and serve warm! They also tasted great at room temp :)

IMG_8541 IMG_8542

I cannot say enough how much we all enjoyed these, and I will definitely double the recipe next time, and even experiment with other fillers. (I’ll probably need to make full-sized ones for that, though.) Any suggestions for your favorite egg pairings? These were perfect for brunch, and I’m sure would be great if made ahead and reheated.

Evil rating of 3, because while they were smaller than the originals, no one could stop at one… But, I mean, eggs! healthy! protein! (I literally made these so I had one menu item that wasn’t pure carbs.)

IMG_8545 IMG_8546

2 comments

  1. Those look so good!!!

  2. These egg cups look absolutely delicious my friend! Such an innovative snack idea :D

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 124 other followers

