Pancakes

Happy new year! I decided, once again, to host a brunch at my place on New Year’s Day. I wanted to shake things up from last year, and while I was preparing food for 12 people, I still wanted to make it as easy on myself as possible. And I thought pancakes would be a lot easier to serve than the french toast I made last year.

Having never made pancakes myself – have only had them at home if mom was making – I decided to look for a trusted recipe online. Having never been disappointed before, I turned to AllRecipes.com and found this family recipe. (There’s also a handy calculator which helps you to easily halve/double/triple the recipe.) I made 3x the batter because I had no idea how huge the pancakes would be, and ended up with a lot left over. Plus side – I got to have pancakes again this weekend! (They stored well in a plastic container in the fridge.)

I made a disclaimer to all my guests about how I’ve never made pancakes before, and if they turned out bad we’d find something else, but it was all for naught. They turned out fantastic, and everyone was happy! (especially me)

The only thing I changed about the recipe above was the amount of salt – I halved it. It seemed excessive. And, going back and reading all the comments, seems like everyone else did the same. I probably should have checked those first!

And before I post the recipe, here’s a general tip about making pancakes that I learned from my mom. Pancakes are like eggs in that they should be cooked low and slow. If you crank the heat, yeah the outsides will be nice and toasty, but the insides will be raw. You want it to cook on lower heat to ensure it cooks all the way through. And feel free to add berries to these! You can mix them into the batter, or you can sprinkle them into each individual pancake after you pour it onto the griddle.

OLD FASHIONED PANCAKES – makes 8 servings

  • 1+1/2 cups AP flour
  • 1 Tbsp + 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 Tbsp white sugar
  • 1+1/4 cups milk
  • 1 egg
  • 3 Tbsp melted butter (unsalted)

In a large bowl, sift together your dry ingredients – flour, baking powder, salt and sugar. I just used a whisk to make it nice and airy. Then, make a well in the center of the flour and slowly mix in all the wet ingredients until smooth. The recipe didn’t say but, after having done it, I’d recommend you beat the egg before adding it in. I also didn’t make a well, and that was my mistake. My batter was super lumpy, and I was sure I did something wrong, but I didn’t want to keep stirring because I didn’t want to end up with tough pancakes.

IMG_8555IMG_8556

Heat a griddle on medium-low. When it’s warmed up, lightly butter or oil the surface. I used salted butter for this. I’d recommend using a measuring cup to scoop and pour out 1/4 cup of batter for each pancake.

Look how they expanded!

IMG_8738 IMG_8740

Let it cook for about 5 minutes, and then check (using a spatula) to see if the underside looks brown. If it’s really not browning, turn up your heat a bit. Otherwise, flip the pancake and let it finish cooking on the other side. My griddle wasn’t evenly heating, so the ones in the middle were cooking much faster than the ones on the ends. Not the end of the world. Once they were cooked, I just slid the rest closer to the middle.

Again, these turned out fantastic. Just good, old-fashioned pancakes. No, they’re not perfectly round or browned. But they were delicious and fluffy and an excellent vehicle for maple syrup. I’d love to know if anyone of you have recipes you swear by, but otherwise this is going to be my go-to!

IMG_8557

2 comments

  1. Anywhere Home · · Reply

    Looks great! I am always on the hunt for a great pancake recipe so will try this one out next time :-) Maybe just switch in some buttermilk ;-)

    1. mmm buttermilk. Great plan. You’ll probably have to reduce the amount of baking powder and maybe add in baking soda instead for that, though. Just beware :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 113 other followers

