Coffee Cup Quiche

The second recipe my friend and I tested from this wonderful BuzzFeed list was this quiche. I’d say, in this case, I felt the term quiche was loosely defined, but hot damn did it taste incredible. The recipe we used was from the St. Louis Post-Dispatch. There were a couple of personal taste, “choose your breakfast destiny” ingredient options, so below I’ve written out what we used. To see other suggestions, refer to the link above.

This is another recipe that was super easy to make, with minimal ingredients, and was both a perfect size and ridiculously tasty. I will certainly be making it again.

COFFEE CUP QUICHE – Serves 1

  • 1 egg (we used large)
  • 1.5 Tbsp milk
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/4 bagel
  • 2 tsp cream cheese
  • 1 slice prosciutto
  • fresh thyme and fresh chopped chives (we’re crazy like that)

Now re-reading the directions, I’m remembering something we came across that didn’t make sense at the time. I will revise history, and tell you what I think you should do, and hopefully it’ll make your life easier.

Beat egg and milk together with a fork. You can do this directly in your mug. Add salt and pepper to taste.

IMG_4233IMG_4234

Next, add your cream cheese and stir it in. (You’ll see by the pictures, we didn’t do this. This is where it seemed to make more sense to add it – looking back.) We’d left the cream cheese out to get soft, and even so it was still quite difficult to incorporate, or even to break down into smaller chunks, especially with the bagel in the way. You don’t need it all blended smoothly, but try your best to at least smush it down a bit.

Then add the bagel by tearing it into dime-sized pieces, and stir it in so it soaks up the egg.

IMG_4235 IMG_4236

Next, tear or cut the prosciutto into small pieces and add to the mixture. Sprinkle with the fresh thyme.

IMG_4238

Mix it all together, then microwave on high until cooked through, we did this for about 1:20. You’ll notice if your eggs don’t seem cooked through, ours were still runny so we zapped them a bit extra, and you can adjust accordingly.

Garnish with fresh thyme, chives, or in my friend’s case, sour cream. I don’t think you can go wrong with any or all of these combinations.

IMG_4239

You don’t have to serve it with wine, but what’s stopping you?

This quiche was divine. I don’t even know how to describe it in more colorful or grown-up words, but it was rich and flavorful, and I must have it again. Unless you’re a salt lover (I am not), you won’t need any additional salt seasoning, because the prosciutto has that in spades, and the bagel didn’t get tough when we cooked it, which was something I’d thought a possibility. It was just so damn good.

I’ve heard of microwaving eggs before, but didn’t know they could turn out like this. Have any of you tried this, or tried another recipe? My eyes are now open, so let me know!

5 comments

  1. I love this! Any thoughts on doubling the recipe? I want to try it, but let’s be serious – I would need 2 to be full.

    1. You’d probably only have to account for microwave time, or you can make it in 2 mugs and double fist! I’d say add an additional :30/:45, and see how it’s cooking up. You can always put it back in for longer.

  2. Haha my friend you are a coffee mug genius :D

    Cheers
    CCU

    P.S I seem to have lost around 1000 subscribers on my blog and I don’t know how, so if you were subscribed, could you resubscribe please? it would really help me out!

    1. Ha, I just follow what the blogs tell me to do ;) But thank you. And I will for sure resubscribe, didn’t know it’d dropped me!

      1. I appreciate it my friend, I would never ask unless this random ‘glitch’ hadn’t occurred – I hope it gets fixed soon! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 123 other followers

