Orange Buttercream Frosting

Normally I don’t condone cheating, but when it’s 95ºF outside for a week, who in her right mind is turning on an oven? Not me, that’s for sure. And why would I take the time to make perfectly good cookies if someone else is willing to do it for me?

Ok, so it’s not really cheating, unless you’re a baking purist, which I am not. I was inspired to make a citrus buttercream after buying some ginger snaps from Trader Joes. I actually made 2 purchases – one of their regular snaps, and one of their gluten free version. Both are fantastic, but you might already know that.

I had originally been inspired to make a lemon buttercream, and maybe throwing some honey in there, because the thought of lemon ginger tea is so yummy and soothing, but thought I should switch it up after my recent lemon square and lemonade pie endeavors. Luckily, orange tastes pretty fabulous with ginger as well.

This recipe yielded enough frosting for twice as many cookie sandwiches, so you could definitely halve it if you don’t need more than a couple dozen. You could also swap out the orange for lemon, if you’re so inclined.

ORANGE BUTTERCREAM FROSTING – frosts about 12 cupcakes/4 dozen sandwich cookies

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, room temp
  • 3 cups powdered sugar
  • 4 Tbsp orange juice
  • a splash to 1/2 tsp orange extract (for the extra pow)
  • zest of one orange – (finely shaven!)

Cream together your butter and sugar, slowly at first so you don’t cover your kitchen with sugar dust.

Add in your orange juice, extract, and zest, and finish mixing until frosting is creamy. If it ends up too liquidy, just add a bit more powdered sugar.

That’s it, then just take a piping bag (or a spoon!) and put about a teaspoon’s worth of frosting on one cookie, and top with the other. Pop in the fridge when they’re done, so the frosting can set. This was pretty prone to melting, even just 10 minutes after being out of the fridge. (Could be the orange juice, could be my butter was too soft to begin with.)

Making your own frosting or filling is a great way for you to add a homemade touch to any premade dessert, and a real timesaver (and heat saver!) to boot!

Hope you enjoy these. Do you have any baking cheat sheets to help beat the heat? (hahaha! Yup, I crack myself up!)

5 comments

  1. This frosting leaves my mouth watering 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    1. Thanks! I need to play catchup on your blog… preferably when I’m not hungry myself 😉

  2. pamasaurus · · Reply

    Yuuum! I love citrus flavored sweets! I’m definitely going to have to try this!

  3. It’s only cheating if you just add water and call it homemade 🙂

Leave a comment