Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

I’m all about pumpkin lately, as you’ll see in my upcoming posts, and why not? ‘Tis the season! I’ve been snapping up recipes even faster than I’ve been snatching cans of pumpkin from the food store. I’ve made pumpkin soup, put pumpkin in my breakfast smoothie, some in my tomato sauce, and, of course, in baked goods!

These whoopie pies were outrageous. The comments I got on these were ridiculous to the point where I became flustered and embarrassed. I walked into my friend’s house on a Sunday (for the Giants game) and dropped off the cookies before making a pit stop in the restroom. I heard yelling from the bathroom, no lie. Lots of “You have to be effing kidding me!” and “You did not!” and “What the eff?” I think there were even a couple of “Shut up!”s and I wasn’t even saying anything!

Who knew that such a simple cookie could have such an effect on people? (You don’t even need a mixer for this!) Apparently Megan did over at What Megan’s Making, which is where I got this recipe. These, with the cinnamon cream cheese frosting, reminded me of the pumpkin spice cake I made a year ago (one of the cakes that started it all). In fact, I will be posting the recipe for you all very soon!

I don’t know why pumpkin is so seasonal, well I do – but just go with me on this… People should be able to, nay, required to eat these year round. Let’s get started on them so you can maximize what’s left of the pumpkin flavored treat season.

PUMPKIN WHOOPIE PIES – Makes about 2 dozen sandwiches

Cookie:

  • 1 stick unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 cup canned pumpkin puree (not pumpkin pie filling)
  • 1 Tbsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1-2/3 cups flour

Frosting:

  • 1/2 stick unsalted butter, soft
  • 4 oz cream cheese, chilled
  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 2 pinches salt
  • 1/2 tsp vanila
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon

Preheat your oven to 350ºF and line 2 cookie sheets with parchment.

In a large bowl, whisk together the melted butter and brown sugar until it’s smooth. Then add in the eggs pumpkin puree, spice, vanilla, baking powder, soda, and salt. Once those are in, use a rubber spatula to fold in the flour.

 

Use a spoon to drop small mounds of batter onto the parchment. Here’s where I discovered that if I dropped an uneven lump of batter before baking, it would remain an uneven lump after baking. I’d say take the extra few seconds to smooth them all out if you care about these kinds of things, and also because it makes for easier sandwiching. Megan’s came out all cute and even, mine did not, but they’ll still taste fab in the end!

Bake for 10 minutes or so, until they come out a bit springy to the touch. Yes, I poked a couple of cookies to check. (Wash your hands!) Let them cool on the sheet for a bit, then put them on a rack to cool completely.

While those are cooling you can make the frosting! Now you can use your mixer, since I know you were pained earlier at all the manual labor.

Cream together the cream cheese and butter. Then add in the rest of the ingredients. Mix until combined on low, then turn up the juice until it’s nice and fluffy.

Spread about 1/2 Tbsp or so of frosting on the flat side of one cookie, and top it with another. It might be easier if you match up cookies by size (if they’re all wonky like mine were) ahead of time. Don’t be stingy with the frosting, there will be plenty!

Bring them to a friend’s house and enjoy!

7 comments

  1. Loved this post :) I’m so glad everyone liked these cookies so much! They’re so easy aren’t they? But they always get rave reviews :)

  2. Hippie Cahier · · Reply

    I wish I had known about your blog last weekend when I was looking for something pumpkin-y to make for a party. Now I have to think of another reason for a party. These look delicious!

    1. aww, thanks. Much more pumpkin stuff to come – definitely make up an excuse for a party to make these! Or don’t, just treat yourself!

  3. I’ve seen these all over the blogosphere! I must give them a try ! They look so tasty!

  4. I think I’m going to make these for my Vegetarian Thanksgiving Spectacular on Friday night :) Can’t wait!

  5. amandasperspective · · Reply

    What is a whoopie pie? Two cookies with frosting filling?

    1. Yup, but the cookies are more cake-like than most cookies.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 120 other followers

