Jello Cookies

I was looking for a kid-friendly recipe for a barbecue around the 4th, and considered doing red, white, and blue layered Jello when I came across this recipe. They seemed simple enough to make, and I thought it was a pretty cool idea to use the Jello for the flavoring in the cookies. (You could make these in virtually any flavor you’d like!) Plus I figured they would last longer than actual Jello if they were left sitting out.

It’s a basic sugar cookie recipe with some Jello mix added in for a punch of flavor and color. Now I’m not sure if it’s because I used sugar free Jello, or maybe if the original recipe was designed for someone who had a super high threshold for sweets, but I modified the amount of Jello that went in these cookies (mostly because I didn’t have the required amount) but I found they still had a super intense flavor.

I’m not saying they were bad, not at all. The kids loved them, they’re bright red and fruity flavored and the gelatin added a really cool chewy consistency. Some of the adults really liked them too. One woman asked me what I put in them because she said the flavor was so familiar but she couldn’t pinpoint it. When I mentioned the Jello she said “Yes, that’s it!”

Here’s the original recipe from Chrisy58, and below I’ve posted the recipe I used. I used a lot less Jello because I didn’t realize the recipe called for a 3oz box. All I had were 3 of the .6 ounce boxes, one each of Cherry, Raspberry, and Strawberry, so I had to make do. Even so, these were intensely fruity. I’d even use less of the Jello powder next time, but since some people enjoyed them as-is, you should try it this way first. Again, the Jello I had on hand was sugar free, so I’m not sure if that may have affected how sweet these were. If you try something different, please let me know how it works out!

JELLO COOKIES

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter (1.5 sticks)
  • 3 boxes of .6 oz Jello – I used the flavors above (refer to picture above – the bottom left tells you how much each box holds)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2.5 cups flour

Preheat your oven to 350ºF, and line a few baking sheets with parchment. Combine your flour, salt, and baking powder and set aside.

Cream together the sugar, butter, and Jello powder. Then add in the vanilla and the eggs one at a time. Beat until just incorporated.

You see how red that batter is? Should have been a tip-off as to how flavorful these were going to be. Add the dry ingredients and mix until combined.

Using a spoon, or your hands, take chunks of dough and roll them out into about one inch balls. Put them on the cookie sheet, flattening them slightly. Since there’s so much red in the dough, you can definitely expect some to get on your hands. (Don’t worry, it’ll wash off later!)

Bake the cookies for 6-8 minutes. Since you can’t tell if they’ve browned or anything, I erred on the side of caution and baked them towards the lower end of that range. Let them cool on a rack before serving.

Again, you could probably get away with using just 2 of the smaller boxes and I’m sure they’d have enough flavor. These don’t really have an evil rating, maybe a 1, because I found them too sweet to even try another. Don’t let that sour you on these, however, because they were all gone by the end of the bbq!

4 comments

  1. This recipe seriously intrigues me. I gotta try it.

  2. I’m sorry, but you added way too much jello because you used the sugar free kind. 0.32 ounces of sugar free makes the equivalent of 3 ounces of regular. You need to look up a sugar substitute conversion chart.

  3. I just tried these with 1 3oz box of lemon Jello & threw in 2 cups of dried blueberries. They are light & cakey & a hit in my house. My husband says they remind him of blueberry muffins. Definitely going to try these with different flavor combos.

    1. So happy to hear you enjoyed them. Lemon blueberry sounds like a fantastic combo! I think the red flavors I used were a bit much, so I’m glad these were lighter and tasted more like blueberry muffins. Can’t wait to hear about other flavors you try!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 125 other followers

