Mini Angel Food Cakes

I had a dinner party a little bit ago, and the menu was packed with awesome southern-themed food. I made BBQ chicken, southwestern stuffed peppers, mac and cheese, biscuits, and roasted asparagus. To top that off, I figured I would need a light dessert, and my sister recommended angel food cake. It was a good call, one I would top off with fresh whipped cream and some sliced strawberries. Mmm, spring.

I made these mini so everyone could have his or her own, rather than make a giant cake and have leftovers. Having no previous experience in with angel food cake, I found this recipe from My Baking Addiction and decided to give it a go. I noticed she’d made these as a light dessert after a southern style dinner as well, so I figured it was a good sign. I’d originally planned to make cupcakes, as she had, but I own these adorable 3″ springform pans and decided to use those instead.

MINI ANGEL FOOD CAKES

  • 6 eggs
  • 1/2 cup and 2 tablespoons confectioners’ sugar
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon cream of tartar
  • 3/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon almond extract
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup sugar (I used baker’s sugar)

Start off by separating the eggs and measuring the whites to 3/4 of a cup. You might need more or less. Let those sit at room temp for half an hour while you start on other stuff.

Preheat your oven to 350F. Prepare your muffin tins or mini cake pans with liners and/or baking spray.

Sift your flour and powdered sugar together 3 times. This helps remove lumps and make the dry goods as smooth as possible for your delicate cake.

Put your cream of tartar, extracts, and egg whites into the bowl of a mixer and beat on high speed. Slowly add your 1/2 cup sugar, beating the egg whites until they form stiff peaks. I find it usually takes about 7 minutes.

Then, fold in your flour/powdered sugar mixture 1/4 cup at a time. Be very gentle!

Once the batter is ready, spoon it into prepared cake pans. I found that these didn’t rise too much, so you don’t have to worry about overfilling. Using a butter knife, cut through the batter to make sure and release any air bubbles. After this step, I also found that if there were peaks and swirls left on top of the cakes, those stayed in there when the cakes were baked.

Bake cupcakes for 15 minutes, I did the cakes for about 18, so they’re light brown and spring back slightly when pressed. Let them cool on the wire rack.

I ended up with 7 of the 3″ cakes (there were 7 of us dining together), and her recipe says she made about 14 regular sized cupcakes. I served them, as mentioned above, with some homemade whipped cream and fresh strawberries.

Personally, I found the cakes to be ridiculously sweet, but no one else thought so. Either way, they were a perfect ending to a great dinner. I give them an Evil Rating of 2, because they were good and sweet, but no one was going to stab someone else for a second helping.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 120 other followers

