Homemade Mallomars

When I found this recipe, I knew I had to make them for my dad. Ever since I can remember, my dad has hoarded Mallomars. Why do I use such a strong word? Because they don’t sell them during the summer due to the melt-factor of the cookies. (The main ingredients are chocolate and marshmallow.) Since tax season was almost drawing to a close (when I made these a week ago), I decided to make these as the last installment of the Tax Season Cookie Rollout of 2010. When mom gave some of my biscotti to my grandpa and he said “can she make Mallomars?” I knew that the Universe was telling me something.

Now here is a precursor to this entry. I became frustrated with the directions, and subsequently the results, of this recipe as they had been laid out in the original post. I’ve recently learned about mise en place, which highlights what we already knew – that things like the order in which you make stuff, or even get your ingredients set up, is of extreme importance in preparing many desserts – including this one. That being said, I hope my account of how things went down will not only assist you in the making of these fantastic cookies so that they’ll turn out right the first time, but so that you might even want to make them again.

I had to double the marshmallow and triple the chocolate, so I reflected that in the recipe below. Not fun things to find out in the midst of making the cookies. The dough recipe yielded a little over 5 dozen cookies, which were plenty.

MALLOMARS – Chocolate Marshmallow Cookies

For the cookies:

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • scant 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 12 Tbsp unsalted butter, slightly chilled
  • 3 large eggs

For the marshmallow:

  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup corn syrup
  • 1.5  cup sugar
  • 2 Tbsp powdered gelatin (one packet is a bit less than a tablespoon, I didn’t bother opening a second for that remainder)
  • 1/4 cup Cold water
  • 4 egg whites at room temp
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Chocolate Glaze:

  • 36 oz semisweet or dark chocolate chips (I went with semi-sweet, the cookies were super rich, I’ll try dark chocolate next time) you may need more.
  • 3/4 cup vegetable oil
  • (proportions for making extra chocolate is 12 oz of chocolate – 2 cups – and 2 oz of vegetable oil or cocoa butter)

Here’s the order in which you’ll do things. First make the cookie dough – let it chill for at  least an hour. Then, once they’re baked, you have to give them time to cool. When they’re cool, start making the marshmallow fluff. That will need at least 2 hours to set, so you won’t need the chocolate until later, or even the next day (I did half mine the first night until I ran out of chocolate, then just finished the rest the next day.)

To make the cookies – combine the dry ingredients (flour, sugar, salt, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon) in a stand mixer, and use the paddle attachment to blend. I always forget to include the sugar when it calls to mix all the dry ingredients together. Don’t you do that! Add the butter (I would cut it into squares or at least slice it into the bowl rather than dumping it in stick by stick) and mix it on low until sandy. In a separate bowl, whisk the eggs and then add to the dough and mix on low speed to incorporate.

Now here, the directions called for rolling the dough into a ball and refrigerating. If you do this, then you can roll and cut cookies out later. I opted to roll the dough into logs so I could just slice them later on when I needed to. This dough never really got super firm, so it worked but rolling it out might have been the better way to go. If you’re doing logs, roll them until they’re about 2″ in diameter – I went a little smaller, and then I’d recommend putting them in a paper towel roll (cut a slit up one side and slip it around your tightly wrapped dough) to help them keep their shape. Mine were a bit wonky, but I didn’t really care at that point.

When you’re ready to bake, preheat the oven to 375ºF. Line a cookie sheet with parchment. If you’re cutting from a log, cut slices about 1/8″ thick. If you’re rolling, roll the dough out to the same thickness and cut with a 2-inch round cutter. These puffed a bit in baking, so I’d space them at least an inch apart. Bake for about 10 minutes, or until light golden brown. Let them cool for a bit on the sheet before transferring to a wire rack.

You don’t even have to start on the marshmallow until the cookies are completely cool. When you’re ready for that, start whipping your egg whites on medium high speed until soft peaks form. It takes about 7 minutes to whip egg whites to this stage, so you should make sure to start this first. While that’s going, you can combine the water, corn syrup, and sugar in a medium saucepan. You will have to bring this to a boil, but don’t do that until the egg whites are halfway done. I set a timer for this, no lie. (keep in mind, this was the second time I was doing it – as the original directions were misleading.) While you’re bringing the saucepan to a boil,  sprinkle the gelatin over the cold water in a separate bowl. Let it dissolve. Heat the sugar mix in the saucepan until it reaches the soft-ball stage (235ºF on a candy thermometer). Remove the syrup from the heat, and add in the gelatin. Mix to combine. Mine got all fluffy at this point, so I just stirred it a bit more. By this time, your egg whites should be well-whipped, so just pour in the sugar mix, and continue whipping until stiff peaks form. It was kind of hot still, so it took a bit. Probably another 5 minutes at least.

Back story – the first time I made the marshmallow, I heated everything first, so by the time the eggs were ready, the sugar mix had overcooked and browned. When I added the gelatin, everything started solidifying because the mix had been off the heat too long. It didn’t fully combine with the egg whites when I whipped it. Heed my amended directions!

The pictures below are from the first go ’round of the marshmallow:

(accidentally put too much gelatin in the first time, the bowl at the bottom is what the dissolved gelatin should look like.)

This is what happened when I added the gelatin to the boiled sugar… it was too hot and got cooked a bit too much, hence the amber color… But it got all weird and fluffy, see?

And here’s where the mixture had too much time to set as the eggs were still being whipped. It started hardening, no lie…

And you can see above where some of the sugar had already solidified and wouldn’t blend in with the egg whites. The first round of marshmallow still tasted fine, so don’t worry about that, but when I remade it I got to see how light and airy it can be, and how it was supposed to turn out.

Kind of flat. A little denser than it should be. But still tasty!

And here’s how it should have turned out, not all burnt looking:

Anyways, once you have light and fluffy (and STICKY) marshmallow cream, put it in a pastry bag and pipe it onto the cooled cookies. It does not have to reach the edges, I over-mallowed my first few cookies trying to get it to reach the edges, but realized I was being silly. You’ll get plenty of marshmallow on each cookie, I promise.

Now, these cookies have to set for at least 2 hours. You’ll notice, if you do silly things like I do, that the marshmallow is extremely sticky. EXTREMELY. I accidentally caught a couple of them with a stray finger as I was filling the rest of them, and I’d lift up not only that one cookie, but the ones that I had inadvertently rubbed that initial cookie against when it got stuck to me which in return stuck to other marshmallow tops. Does that make sense? Whatever. Anyway, REALLY sticky. Not that I recommend sticking your finger into each cookie, but that will be a good indicator of when it’s finally set.

Once they’re ready, you can melt your chocolate and vegetable oil. For the first batch, I used a double boiler, but for the next batch (the next day) I was super lazy and just melted it right into a saucepan. Either way works fine. Now, I found this easier to do with 2 utensils. I had the cookie balanced on a small fork in the left hand, and a spoon for drizzling chocolate in my right. I also found the most efficient way to get chocolate on the bottom of the cookie was to drop the cookie into the chocolate before spooning more over its top.

Now, I used semi-sweet chocolate for this, and it was extremely rich. Not only that, but I found that the chocolate was pretty thick. I didn’t thin it out, however, because I was shipping these cross country to my dad and didn’t want to give it more opportunity to melt. I had it in my mind that the oil was what made the chocolate thinner, so I used a bit less. Never mind the fact that chocolate is melty all on its own.

So Dad, Mom, and Grampie each got batches of these and the reviews were outstanding. I hadn’t counted on making so many, so when I finally got around to covering the rest of the cookies the next day (let me interrupt myself here – putting foil over the tops of the cookies was not an efficient way to store them. Don’t be lazy like me – move them in to a deeper container over night. Stupid, stupid, stupid. Of COURSE they stuck to the aluminum) I had plenty to still bring into work… which leads me to this entry’s Evil Rating – which was a solid 3.5. Among my favorite comments was a drive by of “you’re evil” as a coworker walked by my desk munching away and smiling.

I will tell you, however, I might have to up the rating of my chocolate salty balls, because STILL everything I do is being compared to those. Right on. (I should probably make those again soon…) At least I’ll leave some sort of legacy, or at least a signature treat.

I hope you enjoy these as much as I did. They’re a bit of work, but yum, yum, yum.

9 comments

  1. Heaven. In. A. Cookie.

    Better then pain meds after a surgery!! :-)

  2. […] Here’s a recipe I found from a fellow blogger…it looks pretty complicated, but I can’t wait to try it when I’m yearning for some mallomar goodness and don’t know what to bake: Homemade Mallomars […]

  3. Happy Mallomarch! ;)

  4. D Schilling · · Reply

    Wonderful explanations and photo’s!

    1. Thank you! I’d love to hear how yours turn out if you try making them :)

  5. My daughter and I made these mallomars yesterday, followed your instructions and they came out awesome! I think I, too, would use a lot less oil in the chocolate. I think you left out or I missed where to add the vanilla so I mixed it into the syrup. I hope this link to my
    photos works. myhttps://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=592426050784302&set=pcb.592426190784288&type=1&relevant_count=4&ref=nf

  6. The link didn’t work

    1. Oh well. Sometimes if you open the picture in a new window, that link will work, instead of the direct one to your fb page. So glad they came out well! And I’ll make sure to go back and add in the vanilla step, thanks for pointing it out!

  7. […] Ingredients for the marshmallow (see picture and recipe reference here) […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 125 other followers

