Where my dogs at?

This entry is for the dogs. I follow a few baking blogs I’ve been introduced to by links on other blogs or from stumbling upon them randomly in the quest for new recipes. One of these blogs is Culinary Concoctions by Peabody.

I’ve read every entry and she makes some fantastic stuff, but the first recipe of hers I decided to try was dog biscuits. When I was traveling back east for the holidays, I wanted to make sure Pumpkin wasn’t left out of the gift exchange.

While she looks like a puppy who wants for nothing, this girl is fond of her treats. So, I thought I’d add a personal touch and make her some as an extra special present.

Now, I will warn you… Although human food was used in both of these treats, I made her two kinds because I didn’t know which she’d prefer, it was one of my more nauseating experiments. I don’t know what it was, in theory I love peanut butter. I love garlic, molasses, and chicken soup. However, there is something about the combo of these things to make dog biscuits that did not agree with any of my senses. Pumpky loved them, but I am hesitant to make these again for the sake of my stomach.

So in a way, it was worth it to see her happily noshing her personalized treats. That being said, here are two recipes your dog might enjoy as much as mine did.

MOLASSES DOG BISCUITS

  • 2 cups cornmeal
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tbsp molasses
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1/2 cup chicken broth
  • 1/2 cup powdered milk

Preheat the oven to 400 F.

In a large mixing bowl, combine all the ingredients. Blend until smooth. Blend is a subjective word here, because we were working from a mixing bowl; maybe a blender would have been better. I chopped up the garlic as much as I could, but everything else was, to my memory, just stirred together.

Now, I’m not sure what I did wrong, but my “batter” was super, super liquidy. It was awful. Really, just gross. Kind of like wet sand with a lot of extra water, but really gritty thanks to the cornmeal. The texture of this combined with the smell of the peanut butter treats… well I’m just not sure what to tell you. I’m just sensitive I guess.

Now, it says to roll the mixture out 1/4″ thick and cut into shapes or shape by hand. My mix was so runny I just had to plop a spoonful down on parchment paper on the cookie sheet and hope I got it in the oven before they ran too much. Place one inch apart on the sheet. Bake for 20 mins.

I think mine ended up a little thin especially around the edges, no doubt to the thin consistency before baking.

Here’s how they turned out, they look just like hash browns.

The second recipe sounded tastier, but I still ended up a little queasy. Without further ado…

PEANUT BUTTER OATMEAL DOG TREATS

  • 2 tbsp flaxseed meal (I bought it pre-ground)
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 cup natural peanut butter
  • 1 cup oatmeal
  • 2 cups whole wheat flour

Preheat your oven to 300 F. I had just finished making the other treats, so I simply lowered the temp. Sometimes I leave the oven door open for a bit with a nearby window open to help it cool more quickly.

Mix all the ingredients together in one big bowl. The directions tell you to roll out on a floured surface to 1/4″ thick, adding flour or water if needed. Cut with a cookie cutter. I didn’t end up rolling these out. I actually just grabbed a bit of dough at a time and flattened it in my palms before placing it on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet. I shaped them into rectangles once they were on the sheet. Bake for 20 minutes. Turn off the oven and leave the treats inside while it cools for several hours or overnight.

I didn’t have pictures to work from, but here’s how mine turned out. (the individual photos are blurry)

I stored these in zip-top bags. Once I got to Florida, it became clear that these weren’t mold-resistant, so we had to toss them. We then stored the molasses ones in the fridge.

I hope these work out well for you. Peabody warns, and I caution as well, that although our dogs enjoyed these treats, they might not be great for all dogs. All dogs respond differently, just like humans, to different things, so if your dog gets ill, please don’t give them any of these. You know your dog best, and although homemade should be healthier in theory than store-bought treats, it’s no guarantee that they’ll be well-tolerated.

The directions were minimal, that’s how I got them, and I didn’t give you all my personal accounts of baking to deter you from making these. It was just to warn you because for some reason I guess I still expected that buttery, sugary, vanilla-y smell, and batter consistency, we’re all used to from baking cookies. That being said, I hope your furry friends enjoy these as much as Miss Pumpkin did! Bye for now!

One comment

  1. OMG, how cute is your puppy! I love that last picture especially.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 124 other followers

